Notice of By-election for South Tararua Ward

Notice is given that on Friday, 17 February 2017 a by-election will be held to fill one extraordinary vacancy for the South Tararua Ward.


Nominations open on Tuesday, 22 November 2016 and must be made on the appropriate nomination form available from the following locations or download below:

Dannevirke Service Centre
26 Gordon Street, Dannevirke

Eketahuna Service Centre/Library
31 Main Street, Eketahuna

Woodville Service Centre/Library
42 Vogel Street, Woodville

Pahiatua Service Centre
136 Main Street, Pahiatua

Completed nomination documents must be received by the Electoral Officer no later than 12 noon on Thursday, 22 December 2016. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by eftpos, cash or cheque.

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and recent photograph for sending out with voting documents to electors if an election is required. The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in a candidate information sheet which is available with the nomination forms.


Electoral Rolls

Preliminary electoral rolls for the by-election can be inspected at the sites listed above where nomination forms are available during normal office hours from Tuesday, 22 November 2016 to Thursday, 22 December 2016.

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

Calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)

Visiting the Elections website (

Completing an enrolment form available from the Dannevirke Service Centre, 26 Gordon Street, Dannevirke.

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 4pm on Thursday, 22 December 2016.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form - available from the Dannevirke Service Centre, 26 Gordon Street, Dannevirke - and must be returned to the Electoral Officer before 4pm on Thursday, 22 December 2016.

Election Details

If an election is required to fill this vacancy, the election will be conducted by postal voting under the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers.

Electoral Officer Contact Details

Sandy Lowe, Tararua District Council
Private Bag 115, Dannevirke 4942
06 374 4080 or 06 376 0110 


Go to page Go to page

<< Back to Latest News(Posted on: 21/11/2016)