Further Notice of Election to Fill Extraordinary Vacancy

A by-election is required to fill an extraordinary vacancy for the position of Councillor for the South Tararua Ward. The vacancy has arisen due to the Mayor-Elect being voted in from an un-contested ward election.

Listed below are details of the confirmed candidates for the 2017 South Ward By Election. This Election will be conducted by postal voting. Voting will open on Thursday 26 January 2017 and will close at 12 noon on Friday 17 February 2017.

  • Di Eagle          
  • Warren Edward Chase
  • Tony Kuriger   
  • Daniel Rumbold
  • Robin Winter  
  • Alison Franklin

A by-election will therefore be held on the following basis:

  • Voting will be by postal vote using the first past the post system.
  • Candidates will be listed in random order on the voting papers.
  • Voting will open on Thursday, 26 January 2017.
  • Voting will close at 12 noon on election day; Friday, 17 February 2017.
  • Voting papers will be processed throughout the voting period.

Enrolment and Special Voting Arrangements

Enrolment arrangements for this by-election close at 4:00pm on Thursday, 16 February 2017 and are open to:

Residents living within the South Tararua Ward who are not listed on the final residential roll for this by-election. Residential enrolment is available at any NZ Post Shop or online.

Ratepayers of the South Tararua Ward who live outside the South Tararua Ward boundary. Ratepayer elector enrolment can be carried out at the Dannevirke Service Centre, 26 Gordon Street, Dannevirke or by completing the enrolment form.

Special voting facilities will be available during normal office hours between Thursday 26 January 2017 and noon on Friday 17 February from the following locations:

  • Dannevirke Service Centre, 26 Gordon Street, Dvke
  • Woodville Service Centre, 42 Vogel Street, Woodville
  • Pahiatua Service Centre, 136 Main Street, Pahiatua
  • Eketahuna Service Centre, 31 Main Street, Eketahuna

Electoral Officer Contact Details

Sandy Lowe, Tararua District Council
Private Bag 115, Dannevirke 4942
06 374 4080 or 06 376 0110


Go to page Go to page

<< Back to Latest News(Posted on: 09/01/2017)