

Wackrow Memorial Youth Award 2025





1. Information and Judging Criteria

Nominations are sought for the Wackrow Memorial Youth Award 2025: the 38th year since the inception of this prestigious award in 1987. The award is organised by the Dannevirke Community Board.

The Wackrow Memorial Youth Award is promoted annually to young people of the Dannevirke district, with past winners going on to build successful careers and futures for themselves. The award is unique in New Zealand, and Dannevirke youth have shown by their participation the extraordinary calibre of many of the town's young people.

The award is in memory of the late Constable Graeme Wackrow and was presented to the people of Dannevirke by his parents in 1987. Constable Wackrow was killed in a car accident when serving with the New Zealand Police while he was stationed in Dannevirke. An honours board for the award is displayed in the foyer of the Dannevirke Police Station.

A panel of five members from the community undertakes the judging of the award, and they place particular emphasis on the nominee's community service and their contribution to supporting the work of local voluntary organisations and groups. The judges take notice of achievements gained in this area where the entrant's endeavours and their commitment is worthy of acknowledgement. It is expected that the Dannevirke district features significantly in such activities and nominees will be resident within the North Tararua Ward. Nominees must be aged between 14 and 19 years.

The winner of the award has the honour of holding the Wackrow trophy for a year and the Dannevirke Community Board presents them with a miniature to retain and prize money of \$500. Second place receives \$300 and third place \$200. Only one person will be judged the winner, unlike in some earlier years when there were joint winners. Any winner of the award is not eligible for re-nomination in subsequent years. If no more than three nominations are received the award will be cancelled for that year.

Dannevirke Community Board encourages all clubs, organisations, businesses and local schools to nominate young people they consider are deserving of recognition in fulfilling the requirements of the Wackrow Memorial Youth Award. Nomination forms are available from Tararua District Council, Dannevirke High School, Dannevirke Police Station and members of the Dannevirke Community Board. Nominees may be in the workforce, attending tertiary education, or be at school. The nomination form is to be fully completed by the nominator only, who may nominate only one person for the award.

Nominations close on Friday 30 May 2025 at the Tararua District Council Service Centre, 26 Gordon Street, Dannevirke. Nominees must be available for judging on 23 July 2025 at 10:00am. The award ceremony will be held on 5 August 2025, at 7.00pm, in the Hub, Allardice Street, Dannevirke.

Past winners of the Wackrow Memorial Youth Award are Sharmaine Hoera (1987), Fiona McDonald/Janine Thomas (1988 joint winners), Michael Frith (1989), Anna Castles (1990), Ri Streeter (1991), Kym Fell (1992), David Lawton (1993), Jane Thompson (1994), Santana Hauraki (1995), Caroline Walshe/Craig Lowe (1996 joint winners), Tamara Whitehead (1997), Wendy Morton/Kingi Kiriona (1998 joint winners), Casey Potatau (1999), Jae Crawford (2000), Joanne Williamson (2001), Jenny Rhodes (2002), Michael Doyle (2003), Michaela Ronke (2004), Rebekah Scrimshaw (2005), Samantha Alger (2006), Sarah Buchanan (2007), George Jensen (2008), Jessica Barnes (2009), Scott Mancer (2010), Grace Exeter (2011), Samantha Allen (2012), Michael McLean (2013), Bronson Harrison (2014), Myra-Dawn Spooner (2015), Laura Dawson (2016), Boronia Lilo (2017), Joel (Dean) Charlton (2018), Samuel Smith (2019), Clare Seatter (2020),Matilda Panchaud (2021), Josiah Max /Charlotte Patu/Toby Walker (2022 Joint Winners), and Sarah Milham (2023).



Wackrow Memorial Youth Award 2.

(Please note the form is to be completed in full by the nominator, who may only nominate one person)

Nam	e of Nominee:		
Addr	ess:		
(Horr	ne, Boarding)		
Emai	l:		
Phon	e:		Age:
-	ing will be based on the information provider a brief presentation to introduce their not	••	cation, and each nominee will be required to judging panel.
Judgi	ing will be held at Tararua District Counci	il, 26 Gordon Sti	reet, Dannevirke on 23 July 2025, 10:00am.
List ti	he achievements of the nominee and give	any relevant bo	ackground information - e.g.
*	Community service	*	Interest in helping others
*	Contributions to groups and clubs	*	Special talents and skills

- Involvement in community activities
- Any other supporting details

You are encouraged to provide additional information on additional sheets to complete the profile of the nominee.

Nominated by:	
Address:	
Supported by:	
Address:	
I accept this nomination:	
	(Signature of nominee)

Please return this form to the Manager – Democracy Services, Tararua District Council, 26 Gordon Street, Dannevirke or email to governance@tararuadc.govt.nz by Friday 30 May 2025.

Also please attach a bank deposit slip or bank document to verify account details for payment of prize money received.





Dannevirke Service Centre

26 Gordon Street, Dannevirke PO Box 115, Dannevirke 4942 Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm Phone: 06 374 4080 (24 hours) Email: info@tararuadc.govt.nz

Eketāhuna Service Centre & Library

31 Main Street, Eketahuna Monday - Friday 10:30am - 12:30pm & 1:00pm - 4:30pm **Phone**: 06 376 0110 (24 hours) **Email**: info@tararuadc.govt.nz

Pahiatua Service Centre

136 Main Street, Paniatua Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm **Phone**: 06 376 0110 (24 hours) **Email**: info@tararuadc.govt.nz

Woodville Service Centre & Library

45 vogel street, woodville Monday - Friday 9:00am - 12:30pm & 1:30pm - 5:00pm **Phone:** 06 376 0200 (24 hours) **Email:** info@tararuadc.govt.nz