Council aims to provide safe access and walking opportunities for pedestrians in urban areas. Main street footpaths support economic activity by providing an attractive environment. We endeavour to improve the quality of our pedestrian infrastructure by repairing or replacing damaged footpaths and installing new ones where appropriate to ensure that walking destinations are linked.

Council manages approximately 111km of footpaths and have a policy to provide a footpath on at least one side of urban roads where pedestrian access is required. The type of surface used is dependent on life cycle cost considerations, pedestrian volumes and the amenity value of the location (i.e. shopping precincts). The main types of footpath surfaces in the district townships are:

  • Asphaltic concrete
  • Concrete
  • Chip-seal
  • Aggregate / Gravel

Special surfaces such as concrete cobblestones and pavers have been installed in the main shopping areas of Dannevirke, Woodville, Eketahuna and Pahiatua.

Important activities include:

  • Asset inspections; identification, assessment and recording of footpath defect information to enable robust maintenance and renewal programming.
  • Cyclic patrols; remedying minor footpath defects such as potholes on a cyclic basis to ensure a safe level of service is being provided.
  • Routine maintenance; activities carried out on a routine basis, such as water blasting footpaths in main streets, to ensure an appropriate level of service is being provided.
  • Programmed maintenance; programmed repair of footpath defects such as potholes, cracking, and trip hazards to ensure the asset is maintained in a safe and serviceable condition, while maximising its life and realising the investment made in it.
  • Renewal; renewal of the footpath deemed to be at the end of its useful life, minimising increasing and ongoing maintenance costs.
  • Construction; new footpaths based on suggestions from the local Community Boards and prioritised against various factors.