Te Awa Community Foundation

Te Awa Community Foundation covers the Horizons Region (Manawatū-Whanganui) including the seven cities and districts of Horowhenua, Palmerston North, Rangitikei, Ruapehu, Tararua and Whanganui.

The strength of community foundations is that all donations and bequests are invested and held as permanent endowments. An endowment is a fund with money in it, set up to provide long-term support for a particular non-profit organisation or cause. Each year, the income earned by endowments is available for grants to charities and organisations in the local community.

Te Awa Giving Model

Te Awa in Tararua 

Tararua District Council has worked with the Te Awa Community Foundation to create local funds that ensure people in our communities can give and invest for the benefit of the place where they live.

Council has seed funded seven local Te Awa funds for communities across the district to donate or apply to: