Local election process 2022 and why it’s important

Published 30 May 2022

Local elections are overseen by Local Government New Zealand but are run by individual councils, they’re held by postal vote every three years.  This year’s vote is on 8 October 2022.

Local elections let you decide who you think will best represent your interests on the council.  They afford you the opportunity to stand for election yourself, either as a community board member, councillor or mayor and make a difference in our district.
To vote or stand for election you need to be 18 years old, a NZ citizen or permanent resident and enrolled to vote by 12 August 2022.  If you’re only 17 now but turn 18 before 8 October you can still enrol.  www.vote.nz or freephone 0800 367 656.

If you’re of Māori descent you may choose to enrol on either the general or Māori roll but you won’t be able to change your decision until the next Māori Electoral Option in 2024. This is the first year we have had a Māori ward in the Tararua district so it’s an important decision. Please click here.  

People that wish to stand for election must be nominated by two people using an official council nomination form from 15 July to noon on 12 August at a council customer service location. You can’t nominate yourself for election.  For more information please click here.

Those enrolled to vote will be sent an enrolment update pack in July. Please check your details are correct. You will then receive your voting documents in the post between 16 and 21 September.

If you’re on the unpublished electoral roll you need to apply to our council Deputy Electoral Officer in order to get your voting papers. info@tararuadc.govt.nz

If you live outside of Tararua District but pay rates here for businesses or properties then you can apply to our Deputy Electoral Officer to go on the ratepayer roll. info@tararuadc.govt.nz

Voting will take place on 8 October 2022 at various locations throughout the district, voting will close at noon the same day.  
Votes will be counted and the results declared between 13 and 19 October 2022.